Trio of Men’s Basketball Players Earn All-Region Accolades

Trio of Men’s Basketball Players Earn All-Region Accolades

BROCKTON, Mass. ---- The postseason awards are icing on the cake for the Region 21 Champion and NJCAA Tournament bound Massasoit Warriors as sophomores Rael Handy, Mark Munroe and Mark Georges all earned All-Region 21 accolades for their play during the historic 2017-18 campaign.

The trio of starters were instrumental, along with their teammates, in capturing just the second Region 21 title in program existence and advancing to the NJCAA National Championship for the first time in program history.

Massasoit was represented on the first team by sophomore Rael Handy (Easton). The speedy point guard filled up the box score for the Warriors, leading the team in scoring (18.4) and averaged 5.7 rebounds and 5.2 assists per game. In addition, Handy was named Region 21 Tournament MVP.

Mark Munroe (Quincy) was a presence both offensively and defensively for the Warriors in his second year in Brockton, earning a spot on the all-region third team. The 6-foot-7 center averaged a double-double (11.7 points, 10.8 rebounds), shot a team-best 57.9 percent from the floor and swatted a team-high 49 shots. In addition, Munroe was named to the Region 21 All-Tournament Team.

Another third team selection and defensive menace for the Warriors was sophomore guard Mark Georges (Avon). The shooting guard finished second in scoring averaging 15.5 points along with 4.3 rebounds, 1.9 assists and a team-best 2.4 steals per game, while also playing a variety of roles on defense.

Below is a list of the All-Region 21 selections in alphabetical order:

First Team                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Jamaurie Coakley, Bunker Hill

Dajour Dunkley, Quincy

Rael Handy, Massasoit

Deven Palmer, Quincy

Zecaree Veiga, Bristol

Joshua Winbush, Bristol


Second Team                                                                                                                                                                                                                

Johnny Dombrowski, Quinsigamond

Alexis Estrella, Northern Essex

Jacee Hamelin, UConn-Avery Point

Colin Myers, MassBay

Alec Newman, Gateway

Demetrius Rogers, Springfield Tech


Third Team                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Emir Alagoz, Northern Essex

Lawrence Chery, Roxbury

Cha'mon Davis, MassBay

Mark Georges, Massasoit

Corey Green, Bristol

Mark Munroe, Massasoit


Honorable Mention                                                                                                                                                                                                   

Jonathan Daviega, Quincy

Ugo Kamalu, Quincy

Geovonni Kraus, Springfield Tech

Didier Mathelier, MassBay

Tyrel Martinez, UConn-Avery Point

Jonathan Mola, Benjamin Franklin

Coach of the Year: Rob Delaleu, Bristol
Sportsmanship Award: Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology