Massasoit Takes Part in 11th Annual NJCAA WBCA All-Star Weekend

Massasoit Takes Part in 11th Annual NJCAA WBCA All-Star Weekend

BROCKTON, Mass. ---- The 11th NJCAA Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) All-Star Weekend will take place in Atlanta, Ga., on the campus of Georgia State University from July 27-29, with the Massasoit women's basketball team being represented.

First-year Warrior head coach Mark Leszczyk serves as the Vice President of the WBCA and is involved in selecting the NJCAA all-stars and running the event. Massasoit assistant coach Kassy Ayanbeku was selected as one of the four coaches for the all-star teams, while incoming sophomore transfer Destiny Hurt will get to take part in the weekend's festivities representing the Warriors.

Hurt was one of only three NJCAA Division III players selected to take in this year's all-star weekend.

"The last 10 years we have held the event in Florida, but we moved it to Atlanta this year," Leszczyk said. "It is an entire weekend of events for the players and coaches, not just games. Players will get to take a tour of the Martin Luther King Institute for Non Violence as well as the Atlanta Zoo.

"What makes this very special is it is a non-profit event. Players meals, hotels and events are covered by our association so a talented player who may not have funds is still able to participate," Leszczyk said.

A total of 40 NJCAA student-athletes were selected across all three divisions to make up the four all-star teams. Players selected are entering their sophomore seasons and competing at an NJCAA school. Student-athletes are nominated by their coaches and selected by a six-member committee representing various regions of the country.

The all-star game proves to be an excellent opportunity for the student-athletes to showcase their talents to four-year colleges across the country.

"This year we have at this time 124 NCAA D1 and D2 coaches confirmed to attend, which is over three coaches to player ratio," Leszczyk said. "Coaches are coming from as far away as the University of Hawaii, Cal State-Bakersfield and the University of Utah. Nearly every D1 Conference has at least three teams represented including the SEC, ACC and Big East."